What to do about Christmas

Tis the season everyone! It is your first Christmas having in-laws and your family.
What to do? What to do?

10_3

Well I was talking with a great friend of mine and actually helped her with making a decision.

Some of us are lucky enough that one side of the family celebrates Christmas Eve and then the other side of the family does Christmas Day.  So I am not going to lie when I say that it is easy for me and my husband. My side does Christmas Eve and my in-laws do Christmas Day.  My aunt started this when everyone started getting married. It makes it easier on the families.

A great idea is to start your own tradition. You do not want to be that wife with the “this is my way or the highway” attitude.  You will not win over any hearts.

If your family is the one that celebrates Christmas on Christmas Day, offer to host Christmas Eve at you home for your in-laws and extended family of your husband. Do not make it your husbands job to call every one, we all know they won’t say the right thing anyways.  Take the reigns on this one.  Call everyone your self (do not do an evite because it wont be as personal) and out of respect make sure you let them know a few weeks before hand that way they can make the appropriate accommodations.

For the family members that like to do that last minute shopping (we all have a least one procrastinator in the family)  host it early enough so that they can still have time to hit the stores.  Most stores are open late the night before Christmas. The last thing you want to do is put someone in a corner where they have to choose between one or the other.  Just remember, last minute shopping is stressful enough during the holidays, you do not want to make it even more stressful.

Say something along the lines of “I would like to start a new family tradition. I am hosting Christmas Eve at our place this year, I know you like to do the last minute shopping so I decided to host it earlier in the evening so that you still have time to go to the stores you love”. Now this will earn you big points because it shows that you are not making it about you and what you want, you are showing them that you are willing to accommodate their needs as well. If they rather shop then spend time with family, be pleasant and let them know that you understand and that they are welcome to come if anything changes in their plans.

Things will become more difficult once you have children and it will be good to start the tradition sooner then later.   If you have children, then I am sure you love nothing more then watching them open gifts in the morning, maybe offer to have in-laws or your family come in the morning for coffee and pastries (we used to do to that at my grandmas when I was little).   From what my Aunt tells me, having 2 boys of her own, the last thing you are going to want to do is go from family member to family members house on Christmas.  If they can come to you then that would be even better!

I hope that helped a little for those of you that had some wonders.

 I wish everyone a wonderful holiday!

christmas-balls1

Leave a Reply

